DGCA issued license for setting up third airport in Odisha

ROURKELA: Odisha gets an approval to set up state’s third airport in Rourkela by the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) on January 7. There are currently two airports in Odisha – Biju Patnaik International Airport in Bhubaneswar and Veer Surendra Sai Airport in Jharsuguda.

A memorandum for operation and management of the same in Rourkela was signed by the Airport Authority of India (AAI) and the Steel Authority of India Limited (SAIL), the owning authority of the airstrip in April, 2018.

A delegation of the Civil Aviation Ministry had also given clearance to the airstrip to be used for flight operations by the AAI under the Central Government’s Regional Connectivity Scheme ‘Ude Desh ka Aam Naagrik’ (UDAN). Under the UDAN, there are two more airports scheme at Jeypore in Koraput and Utkela in Kalahandi are on process.

Dharmendra Pradhan, Minister of Petroleum & Natural Gas and Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, thanked Suresh Prabhu, Civil Aviation Minister and the DGCA for issuing license for the third airport in Rourkela.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.