Congress swept away four of the six zila parishad seats

JAIPUR: Congress made a small comeback by sweeping away 4 of the 6 zila parishad seats, 12 of the 20 panchayat samiti seats and 4 of the 6 municipal seats for which bypolls were held in Rajasthan. BJP won 2 zila parishad seats, 8 seats of the Panchayat samiti seats and 2 municipal seats.
Bypolls were held across 21 district, Congress won in Ajmer, Jhunjhunu, Sirohi and Tonk and Bharatiya Janata (BJP) won both the seats in Dholpur, in Nagar Parishad member bye election.
Soon after the results were out, Congress leader Sachin Pilot tweeted, “After winning the recent MP&MLA by elections, Cong has today comprehensively routed BJP in the local body by elections held in 21 dists in Rajasthan!”
In Ajmer’s Kishangarh’s Ward Number 36, the winner is Congress party’s Hemlata Nayak. In Dholpur’s Ward Number 11 and 12, BJP’s Bharati and Ramji Lal won. In Jhunhunu’s Ward Number 31, Nagma Bano won. In Sirohi’s Mount Abu, Paru of the Congress party won. In Tonk’s Todarrai Singh’s Ward Number 12, Ramswaroop of the Congress party won the polls.
In Zila Parishad member bye elections, the Congress won 4, Bharatiya Janata Party won 1 and an Independent candidate won one. In Barmer, Seemwati of the Congress party won the elections. In Dungarpur, Hansraj of the Congress party won. In Jhunhunu, Padma of BJP won in Ward Number 8. In Ward 1 and 18, Meera and Sunil of the Congress party won the elections.
In the Panchayat Samiti member bypoll on 21 seats, the Congress won 12, BJP won 8 while Independents won 1.
In Bikaner district, Congress won all three seats. Congress’s Savitri Devi Jakhar won Shri Dungargarh Panchayat Samiti seat in Panchayat Samiti bypolls. Congress’s Bhanwari Devi won from Nokha’s Jasrasar seat. Congress’s Sunita Devi won the Baadnu Lal Madesar seat.
In Barmer, the Congress’s Kheemawati Meghwal won Ward 37 of Zila Parishad. Congress also won the Ward 7 of Dungarpur Zila Parishad. The Congress also won both Wards 1 and 18 of Karouli Zila Parishad
According to an official, Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje has accepted the defeat in by polls on parliamentary and assembly constituencies saying that it was a wake-up call and the result of panchayati raj institutions and local bodies declared today has indicated farewell of BJP from the state.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Feed Your Inbox with Urban Update Weekly Newsletter
We respect your privacy.